Hyundai Accent Offered in a 2 or 3 door hatchback, or 4 door sedan ,this compact offers room to seat 4 people and excellent economy.

2001 hyundai accent loses power going uphill

Old 09-08-2008, 05:52 PM
Default 2001 hyundai accent loses power going uphill

Hi everyone:
I am new to hyundaiforum, I have some problems with my 2001 hyundai accent stick shift, and am hoping to get some guidance here on what to do. The main problem with the vehicle is that it loses power going uphill, it seems to do find on level ground, though it doesn't seem to accelerate to the speed it should, but it gets 70-75 mph. However, going uphill, it loses power significently, it gets 50 mph max, and sometimes 30 mph on a steep hill. There is also a rapid "clink, clink" sound comes out of the front end of the car (somewhere under the hood) when I use a high gear with low speed, like if I drive 10 mph with the 3rd gear, it will make the sound, and the sound goes away when I do gain the speed to 25-30 mph, or 20 mph with the 4th gear, same thing. I had replaced mass air flow sensor, but that didn't fix the problem. I read about checking for vacuum leak with exhaust system, but I don't know how (well, I don't understand how it can be vacuum, since it's a exhaust system, that air comes in and goes out). Any advice is greatly appreciated on how to check for vacuum leak, or what else could be wrong with my car!!!
Thanks,

Old 09-08-2008, 07:42 PM
Default RE: 2001 hyundai accent loses power going uphill

I suspect the loss of power is your catalytic converter has become partially plugged. The cling, cling you hear is the platinum medium inside coming apart and rattling around. It should generate an error code, turning the check engine light on. Yes, it will only get worse if this is the problem.

Old 09-09-2008, 01:34 PM

Hi Ken: