Hyundai Accent Offered in a 2 or 3 door hatchback, or 4 door sedan ,this compact offers room to seat 4 people and excellent economy.

97 Accent SOHC won't start.Starter?Flywheel?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2006, 03:12 PM
Default 97 Accent SOHC won't start.Starter?Flywheel?

I have a problem that seems so simple to me but I am now frustrated. First off, let me tell you that I am Pilot/computer guy by trade, but my Dad and I used to always do our own engine work when I was growing up. So I am far from Master Mechanic but I don't think I am a dummy either.
So now the problem..I will try to make it quick...FYI I have had the starter off 5 times by now!!!!!
We bought the car 2months ago after it was sitting for a few months ( maybe 5 or 6) and it has 60000 miles on it. It was salvage for some reason but it has the NH State certification saying it is road worthy (for what it is worth). Thye are my neighbor and they have NEVER had a problem with the car.
About 3 weeks ago, my son got stranded at work because it would not start....I went there and it seemed to be the starter...it would not engage completely...I kept clicking the ignition till it did engage and it started right up...I know...not healthy for the fly wheel but I did not want to pay for a tow.