Hyundai Tucson The second offering in the compact SUV market from Hyundai.

2006 Tucson GLS starter issue?

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2014, 09:14 PM
Default 2006 Tucson GLS starter issue?

Hello,

I'm new to both this forum and working on my girlfriend's 2006 Tucson GLS. It seems to be having a starter problem, which is unexpected because I had the starter replaced just over a year ago when it failed the last time.

So...the car won't start. A multimeter shows that the battery has a full charge. At ACC and ON, all the dash lights seem to work properly, and when I try to start it a number of lights dim as they usually do during ignition attempts. However, not a click or anything in the starter.

Because the starter is relatively new -- and to the best of my recollection, it was a new starter and not a re-manufactured part -- I'm wondering whether the failure might be somewhere in the connection between the battery and the starter.

Can someone suggest a way to proceed?

Old 09-04-2014, 09:18 PM

One thing I should note -- this did happen once before, a few months ago. A AAA truck driver whacked the starter and the car did start. We then brought it to a mechanic, who could not replicate the problem, though they did note (and correct) a loose battery cable on the positive side of the battery. It hadn't given us another problem until now.

Old 09-05-2014, 02:15 PM
Super Moderator

Yes, hitting a starter will sometimes make it start. It only works a few times and only when a faulty starter is the problem. So try smacking the starter a couple times with a hammer and see if it starts. If it does, then the starter is probably the problem. If it doesn't then it's probably an electrical issue. Check all the power and ground connections.

Old 09-05-2014, 09:18 PM

Thanks. I hit it as someone is turning the key in the ignition, correct? And I'm still trying to locate a parts fiche to show me where it is on the 2.7 engine.

Old 09-12-2014, 04:45 PM