Hyundai Forum - Hyundai Enthusiast Forums

Hyundai Forum - Hyundai Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/)
-   Hyundai Accent (https://www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/hyundai-accent-16/)
-   -   37k!!!! And they tell me I need a clutch?!?!?! (https://www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/hyundai-accent-16/37k-they-tell-me-i-need-clutch-539/)

Nauticus 10-27-2005 09:40 PM

37k!!!! And they tell me I need a clutch?!?!?!

Hello all, I am the owner of a 2003 Accent. I just had it to the local dealer who informed me that the clutch was bad and needed to be replaced. At 37,499 miles!!!! As a side note, this is NOT my first five speed, I have been driving 5spds for over 10 years. The accent still has the original tires and brakes on it, so no.... it does not get driven hard or abused. Just alot of highway miles.

I have done everything so far but call the BBB and file a complaint. In my years as a service advisor for a couple of other car makes, I have never seen anything like this. Has anyone else had this problem of heard of anything like it???

Please help! I love my car and Hyundai...... but this leaves a real bad taste in my mouth.

The clutch is NOT slipping, I noticed it was hard to get into gear the past two days. I had to take it in for an Air Bag light that came on after I removed the drivers seat to install an alarm/power lock system. That is why I asked about the car being difficult to get into gear.

poacher 10-27-2005 09:50 PM

RE: 37k!!!! And they tell me I need a clutch?!?!?!

Are you the original owner of this vehicle?

Nauticus 10-27-2005 10:53 PM

Yes, I am the original owner. Any further questions?

Brant 10-28-2005 11:59 AM

Your right, sounds like bs however, it could be a cheap plate (OEM), the rivets may be loose which could explain the hard shift. My GEO METRO, god rest it's little 3 cylinder soul, had that issue. How was it determined that your clutch needed to be replaced??
Good Luck,
Brant

poacher 10-29-2005 02:07 AM