Hyundai Elantra While not much larger than the accent, the Elantra offers similar room, but a sportier look and feel, as well as more power.

2008 Elantra check engine light

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 04:42 PM
Default 2008 Elantra check engine light

Looking for help. Newbie here. We have a 2008 elantra and the check engine light is on. We found the gas cap really loose and am wondering if the check engine light is supposed to clear or if we have to do it ourselves. Please help. Thanks

Old 11-26-2011, 05:23 PM
Default Check engine light

Originally Posted by gekitch
Looking for help. Newbie here. We have a 2008 elantra and the check engine light is on. We found the gas cap really loose and am wondering if the check engine light is supposed to clear or if we have to do it ourselves. Please help. Thanks
The check engine light will most likely reset after a drive cycle. Listen for the 3 clicks when they tighten the cap...

Bill Dube

Old 11-26-2011, 05:31 PM

Drove it a few times and the light is still on. Wondering if its something else. Just thought this was the obvious answer. Thanks for replying!

Old 11-29-2011, 01:48 AM

You can try taking it to an auto parts store and have them connect a device that will read the error codes from the car's computer. They should be able to tell you whats wrong but expect them to try to sell you parts. they should do this for free

Old 01-29-2019, 04:23 PM

Originally Posted by gekitch
I had the same issue. However, my light is still on so I'm having another issue. It's supposed to clear on it's own. Good luck.

Old 02-02-2019, 05:20 AM

Places like Autozone will get any codes from the computer for you at no charge. If you post the code(s) here we might be able to offer some assistance,worth a try.
Keep in mind the code doesn't always mean that part in the system is malfunctioning it only provides some direction where to start checking. Most of the time we can usually offer some good steps to take.