Hyundai Santa Fe This compact sport utility vehicle offers the buyer the safety of an SUV without the hefty price tag or fuel bill.

Looking for a used Santa Fe Sport

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2017, 11:53 AM
Default Looking for a used Santa Fe Sport

We’re a family of four with two teenage boys looking for a new midsized 2 row SUV. I’m new to the Hyundai nameplate but it looks like the Santa Fe Sport would be a good fit for us.

We currently have a three row 2009 Chevy Traverse that’s falling apart. We’re looking to downsize a bit to a two row SUV.

I’m looking for reliability, value for money, updated tech from 2009 Traverse, and a comfortable ride.

As a family we toured the local CarMax and had a chance to see and sit in a couple of the Santa Fe Sport models. I was mainly interested in which cars would be the right size and we we’re a bit pressed for time and didn’t get a chance to drive one yet.

With that in mind, I was hoping you all could help answer a few basic questions about a 2015- 2017 model:
1. Is there anything you did or didn’t get feature wise that you would change?
2. Any surprises or concerns after you’ve had it for a while?
3. How has the reliability been?
4. While each dealer is different, generally how was the experience working with your local Hyundai dealer?
5. How is the base 4 cylinder engine? Almost all the models on CarMax have the base 2.4L 190 HP model.

Thanks for any feedback. As I said earlier I’m new to the brand but hear good things from Consumer Reports and other sources.

Old 06-20-2017, 08:08 AM
Super Moderator

If you're looking to downsize, have you considered the Tucson? I think either would be an excellent replacement.

Old 06-20-2017, 02:44 PM

Originally Posted by NovaResource
If you're looking to downsize, have you considered the Tucson? I think either would be an excellent replacement.