Hyundai Forum - Hyundai Enthusiast Forums

Hyundai Forum - Hyundai Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/)
-   Hyundai Sonata (https://www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/hyundai-sonata-19/)
-   -   2002 Sonata Brake and ABS Lights On (https://www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/hyundai-sonata-19/2002-sonata-brake-abs-lights-14770/)

Dustin Corbin 11-13-2014 03:07 PM

2002 Sonata Brake and ABS Lights On

I have a 2002 Sonata LX with about 132k miles on it. I recently started having the Emergency Brake and ABS lights come on while driving coupled with a P1602 engine code. While the lights are on, the car drives TERRIBLY, shifting up and down randomly, erratic idling, and running higher RPMs than usual. If the lights happen to go off, the problems immediately go away. After much research, I gave in and took it to the dealership where they diagnosed everything as both front ABS wheel speed sensors being faulty. I got both the parts, and being an avid mechanic, I changed them myself. Upon starting the car I still have all the same codes and the car still drives terribly. Even after disconnecting the battery and clearing the engine code, the problems still exist. Both tone rings seem to be fine. Anyone have any better diagnosis?

Much thanks to all!

Dustin Corbin 11-13-2014 10:50 PM

I was able to find that the connector leading to the ABS module under the hood is somewhat of the problem. Ill be taking a gander tomorrow at it again. But I still want to know why the car drives like crap while the codes are on, if anyone knows.

NovaResource 11-14-2014 07:17 AM

While the ABS light was probably from the wheels sensors, the P1602 was not.

P1602 = ECU-TCU Communication Error