General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Hyundai Sonata oil on spark plugs

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 10:56 AM
Default Hyundai Sonata oil on spark plugs

Hi,

I have a 2.4L 4-cylinder Hyundai Sonata ('01) and am noticing an issue with my spark plugs. The outer plugs (1 and 4) seem to accumulate oil on the top of the rubber of the wires when I pull these spark plugs wires up. It seems to be more oil on plug 1 than 4 (4 is the one with the coil covering the plug). The inner plug set (2 and 3) don't have this problem. I'm not a mechanic so excuse my non-technical terminology. Any ideas on how to troubleshoot this? Thanks.

-los

Old 04-20-2008, 04:27 PM
Default RE: Hyundai Sonata oil on spark plugs

I think you talking about engine oil getting on the spark plug wire boots. The spark plugs are installed at the bottom of wells cast into the cylinder head between the camshafts. These wells are extended by the camshaft cover on top of the engine. The boots are long plastic/rubber extensions that permit connection of the ignition wires to the spark plugs at the bottom. There are seals where the cylinder head and the cover come together in the well. These are leaking on the two cylinders you describe. The cover simply needs to be removed and reinstalled with new gaskets and seals. Is this a major problem? No, more of a maintenence nuisance, but the oil is no doubt attacting dirt and the wells should be cleaned of debrise before the spark plugs are removed for servicing.

Old 04-20-2008, 06:22 PM

Hi Ken,