Hyundai Elantra While not much larger than the accent, the Elantra offers similar room, but a sportier look and feel, as well as more power.

2017 Elantra, intermittent cylinder 3 misfire p0330

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2021, 10:15 PM
Default 2017 Elantra, intermittent cylinder 3 misfire p0330

Hi,

First time posting on this forum and have a bit of an ongoing story of my 2017 Elantra engine. Basic story is that I've been having a cylinder 3 misfire for over 2 months now that has not been properly repaired to this day. I am a mechanic and I am not attacking the mechanics at the dealer as I know intermittent issues can be tricky. There are a few issues I didn't like while dealing with them.

1. CEL came on, I hooked up my shops scan tool, found misfire on 3, did not clear the codes and booked it into the dealer for the next day. They phoned me later in the day, said they could not get a code to appear and said to come pick it up. I sent them a picture of what I found with my shop scanner and they decided that was good enough and did a coil/spark swap from cylinder 3 to 2, they drove it said no codes came up and if they did, bring it back and they would know if there was an issue. I left the dealer and code came back on within a block, brought it straight back. They scanned it and said same misfire on 3, I left it with them and they worked on it the next day, which ended up being an ecm update, courtesy of a technical service bulletin. I picked it up the next day, drove it home and no issues. Thr next morning on the way to work it started misfiring again and CEL came on. Back to the dealer.