Hyundai Elantra While not much larger than the accent, the Elantra offers similar room, but a sportier look and feel, as well as more power.

Steering problem 2010 hyundia elantra

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2010, 12:23 PM
Default Steering problem 2010 hyundia elantra

We enjoyed our 2005 elantra so much that once we decide to purchase a new vehicle the elantra was the way to go. But within 2 days we found a major safety issue with this car. The car will become very unstable and roll violently in high wind condition. Example 1, passing an 18 wheeler in the opposite direct caused car to shake and roll to the point I had to almost stop the vehicle to gain control. Example 2; going over bridge in wind condition caused the same effect. I have been driving for 25 years and have never experienced this type of behavior from a vehicle. I know all cars will have some type of reactions to wind condition but not this extreme. I took it back to dealership but they said the car checked with spec. I called Hyundai and they said there are no problems with the car. They told me that I need to adjust to the steering because it is no longer a power steering system but an electric control steering system now. My response was to them power system or electrical control a car should not became unstable to the point that you can loss control of the vehicle.
Has anyone else experience this behavior in the 2010 elantra? If so is there anything that can be done to fix and or help this problem.

Old 01-25-2011, 03:17 PM
Default Major steering issues