Hyundai Santa Fe This compact sport utility vehicle offers the buyer the safety of an SUV without the hefty price tag or fuel bill.

2007 Santa Fe 3.3 V6 Oil & Filter Change - Tools and Parts suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 01:43 AM
Cool 2007 Santa Fe 3.3 V6 Oil & Filter Change - Tools and Parts suggestions

Hello,

I was looking under the hood just for fun today, and noticed that one of the screws that holds the engine cover is missing. I've always taken them to the dealership for my services and cannot believe that this happened. (Except, I got tires done at Sears, but they didn't do anything that needed that cover off..)

I am actually a little disappointed that the dealership forgot to put my screw on. While it's not effecting the performance of the car, it just reminds me the saying that "if you want it done right, do it yourself."

Well, I have to change the oil & filter. I have never done this before, and I do not have any kind of tools. I am planning to buy a good tool set so I can change the brakes later too. I need some suggestions.

My car is 2007 Santa Fe Limited with 3.3 Engine.

Tool set I have in mind:
Craftsman Mechanics Toolset 35255 - $189.99
Craftsman Professional 3 Ton Jack Stands - $24.99
Ramps for oil change, and I might borrow a Jack from a friend when I need to do brake replacement?

I don't have a garage so I am a little hesitant on buying a heavy Jack. I will be doing oil change mostly, so maybe Ramps will be just fine without Jack stands? Any suggestions?

Next, the parts that I need to change my oil
Mobil 1 Synthetic Motor Oil 5w-30 from Costco (6qts for $25.99 with coupon now)
Genuine Hyundai Cartridge Filter 26320-3C100 ($7-$11 range)
And Drain plug gasket (apparently, they need to be replaced everytime?)