Hyundai Sonata The Sonata has grown to be the premier mid-sized sedan of the Hyundai name with the many interior options and the powerful V6 engine.

Fuel Effeciency and Performance

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 02:14 PM
Default Fuel Effeciency and Performance

I've got a 2005 Sonata with the 2.7L V6 and automatic transmission, I'm looking to up the combined mileage past 20 MPG (which is what I've worked out its mileage as being). A friend of mine who has worked on several cars of many makes told me to get new spark plugs, change the oil with Mobile 1 Synthetic, get a purolator oil filter, K&N Lifetime air filter, change the PCV Valve and check for vacuum leaks. Is there anything else I can or should do to the car?
Is there any way for me to lighten the interior of the car without replacing all the seats and removing the back seat? I'm a college student so I do need all the seats to be intact, otherwise I'd remove the back seats and weld the rear doors shut.

Old 04-19-2011, 02:21 PM
Super Moderator

Change you driving style. Seriously, the driver can make the biggest difference in fuel economy. Easy on the gas, coast to stops, cruise control on the highway, don't speed, etc. That along with making sure the car is in good running order and the tires are properly inflated and aligned.

My 2006 Tucson has the exact same engine and I fuel economy numbers in the low to mid 20's. That's about 50/50 to 60/40 highway/city driving. My Tucson is heavier and less aerodynamic than your Sonata.

Old 04-19-2011, 05:02 PM

Originally Posted by NovaResource
Change you driving style. Seriously, the driver can make the biggest difference in fuel economy. Easy on the gas, coast to stops, cruise control on the highway, don't speed, etc. That along with making sure the car is in good running order and the tires are properly inflated and aligned.