Hyundai XG 350 The mid-sized luxury model

Issue with accelerating...sensor? Code P1511

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 08:26 AM
Default Issue with accelerating...sensor? Code P1511

Okay, new guy here, thanks for the space and nice forum as well guys.
Here is the run down. I am a GM technician at a Chevrolet dealership in N/East Ohio and my sister owns a 04' xg350. Last winter she has a problem on the highway when she would accelerate, it would buck and hold back and sometimes stall out. Check engine light came on, I scanned it and I believe it was a p1511 for the Accelator Pedal Position sensor. I followed the flow chart for the code off of Alldata and everything checked out fine, and the circuit was fine as well.

Now, this winter, it is happening like every day. Did a little research online and found there is a TSB for the Accelator Pedal Position sensor, however it shows no diagnosis for the concern, pretty much to just either replace the APP sensor, the TPS sensor or the ECM.

So my question is, before I spend $150 for a APPS which I think is the problem, does anyone know if there another problem out there with these with a different sensor, or if there is a reburn for the ECM for this issue or something?

I would like to see if there is a common problem out there with these if anyone knows here before I take a $150 guess you could say.

Thanks for your time and for the free space!

Old 12-02-2008, 03:11 PM
Default RE: Issue with accelerating...sensor? Code P1511

Are you sure you didn't mean a P1151 error code? Most Hyundai engines have a seperate throttle position sensor and air idle controller, but it appears both functions were consolidated to an integrated ETS unit on the XG350. The following provides more definative methods for testing the APS portion of the sensor. Tech info is available on http://www.hmaservice.com/. I hope this helps.

ELECTRONIC THROTTLE SYSTEM (ETS) & ACCEL. POSITION SENSOR (APS)

CIRCUIT DIAGRAM

HARNESS INSPECTION PROCEDURES