General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

OBD Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2011, 07:41 PM
Default OBD Question

Hello All,

I am reasonably mechanically as well as technically -inclined, but I am completely new at do-it-yourself-ing anything as far as cars are concerned. I have a 2004 Hyunda Accent GT (3-door) and was looking into getting some sort of diagnostic reader tool for it.

So far I have read about the popular Elmscan 5 and the OBDLink product line. I have surmised some of the following...

Elmscan 5
+ Compatible with a wider range of diagnostic programs
+ Cheaper in some cases
- Hardware interface is slower than competitor's product, worse for getting real-time data from the car (but still possible)

OBDLink
+ Faster hardware interface, better realtime data capabilities
- Compatible with fewer (possibly only one???) line of software

I realize that some of this may be subjective but anyone who is bored, feel free to point out where the above is demonstrably wrong (i.e. OBDLink software compatibility?)

Where I am REALLY unclear is on the following:
What I am trying to figure out now is, do I need either of those devices? They appear to make J1962 (Technical name for ODB interface, I think) to USB cables. Can I effectively obtain the same data from the car if I just get one of these cables and plug one end into the car and the other end into my USB port? And if this is even possible with the Hyundai Accent, what software would I use on the laptop in order to make this happen?

Any help would be appreciated, and many thanks ^^

Old 11-09-2011, 09:17 PM