Hyundai Elantra While not much larger than the accent, the Elantra offers similar room, but a sportier look and feel, as well as more power.

2008 Hyundai Elantra Trans Service

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2012, 07:06 AM
Default 2008 Hyundai Elantra Trans Service

Hi All,

I'm new to this thread and trying to help my daughter out with her 08 Elantra. Car has just passed 30K and the dealer recommended the transmission service (fluid/filter change). They wanted over $200 to do this service.

A little history first, she bought the car new and gets free oil changes for life from the dealer. Sounds good, but they always seem to find something in addition to the oil change that isn't free. There was the tire rotation and a power steering fluid change at 15K which cost over $300. I'm not sure they did either to be frank. And I certainly never heard of changing the PS fluid unless changing a component. I could not find any info on a service bulletin requiring this service. By the way they told her that her warranty would be in jeopardy if she didn't have these done.

Anyway back to the transmission, I told her to not let them do it, I would do it if she simply picked up the materials. She went to the parts department and asked for the fluid and filter/pan gasket for her car. They said they didn't stock the filter. Thats very strange....how were they going to change her's then.

More..they ordered the filter but said that there isn't a gasket, the pan must be sealed with silicone. I did some research and found several aftermarket filters come with gaskets.

I have a few questions for the techs out there.
1) Is a power steering fluid change a normal service item at 15K? (Is so why didn't they insist on it again at 30K)
2) Does the transmission pan have a gasket or is it silicone sealed?
3) Is there an external spin on trans filter on a 08 Elantra?

Thanks in advance, appreciate the help,

warrior79

Old 02-17-2012, 08:07 AM
Super Moderator