Hyundai Elantra While not much larger than the accent, the Elantra offers similar room, but a sportier look and feel, as well as more power.

Elantra over 100K miles

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 05:56 PM
Default Elantra over 100K miles

Hello everyone,

I am a college student and in need of a reliable used car. I would like to purchase something in the next month or so. I have done *some* research and it seems that the best ratings are generally given to Honda (in the first place), Toyota (in the second place), and Hyundai Elantra (in the third): in terms of reliability, durability, gas mileage, availability of parts and mechanics, and the cost of repair. Nissan and Mazda are also good cars in this category: i.e., reasonably priced cars for a college student.

Used Honda and Toyota are really overpriced in the US and so I am turning to an Elantra most likely 1998 to 2004. I am not considering Accent because I don't want to get a car that would give me only troubles after 150K+ miles. (Maybe my assumptions are not right about Accents. If so, please do let me know.) My budget is $4000 to $6000 -- anything beyond $4000 being really a stretch in my finance. So if I buy something closer to my minimum, it would be better. I don't need any monthly payments so I am going to buy the car in cash which hopefully would help me find a better deal. The cars I am looking at on Craigslist and other similar websites seem to have 100K+ miles on them. I think if I do a very thorough search I might be able to find something around 100K or 110K. So I wonder if some of you can help me with the following questions:

1. What is the average lifespan of this generation of Elantra -- considering if they were taken care by the original owner/s, if they were maintained properly? What is the average lifespan for an Elantra that *has not* been maintained properly?