Hyundai Elantra While not much larger than the accent, the Elantra offers similar room, but a sportier look and feel, as well as more power.

need help

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2010, 02:58 PM
Default need help

I have a 2004 elantra gt and I need to clean the oil control filter but for the life of me I can't get it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 02-11-2010, 06:27 PM

um, what?? i've not come across an 'oil control filter'. perhaps you mean an 'oil filter'?? and thse don't get cleaned, just replaced.

df

Old 02-11-2010, 07:53 PM

I guess I should have been more specific. It is the oil control valve filter that I need to remove and clean. I am a novice when it comes to this vehicle but I have done oil changes before and I know that an oil filter gets changed not cleaned.

Old 02-11-2010, 09:44 PM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by bmxroadie
I have a 2004 elantra gt and I need to clean the oil control filter but for the life of me I can't get it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Originally Posted by drivinfaster
um, what?? i've not come across an 'oil control filter'. perhaps you mean an 'oil filter'?? and thse don't get cleaned, just replaced.

df
The oil control valve controls the oil pressure that operated the cam timing on CVVT motors. There filter is for the oil control valve.

They are both located in the cylinder head:

The connector for the Oil Control valve is "A" in this picture:

The oil control valve:

The oil control valve filter:

It should just unbolt out.

Last edited by NovaResource; 12-10-2012 at 09:09 AM.
Old 02-11-2010, 10:09 PM

I was able to locate and remove the retaining bolt as well as the set screw under it, however the filter remained inside. Is it possible that I need to remove the oil control valve before removing the filter?

Old 02-12-2010, 06:09 PM