Hyundai Forum Help & Suggestion Center Need help with HF? Ask! Have a suggestion to better HF? Tell us here..

Surging & Such

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2018, 11:25 AM
Default Surging & Such

Howdy,
I'm a brand-new member here and new Hyundai user / mechanic / critic. I'm a pretty good mechanic of necessity, an engineer by trade and as such, a staunch critic of every engineer who's ever designed any component of any vehicle ever contrived on this planet (and maybe even Mars).

I'd never had much to do with Hyundais, other than borrowing a Santa Fe once and thinking it got over twice the mileage of my Grand Cherokee. Also, my sister's family had two Sonatas and loved them. A month or so ago, my sister bought a new car and offered her '09 Sonata GLS V-6 to my son for a good price. She'd loved it and the only major problem came from her backing over a barricade. It seemed like a great car! We liked it so much that when we found another, ('06 GLS I-4) we bought it for my daughter with the added bonus it came with an extra set of wheels and brand-new winter tires (badly needed on the V-6).