Hyundai Santa Fe This compact sport utility vehicle offers the buyer the safety of an SUV without the hefty price tag or fuel bill.

A/C Condenser Issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2009, 08:47 AM
Default A/C Condenser Issue

Hey gents.

Looking for some advice.........

2007 Santa Fe LTD
2.5 Years old with 20,000 Miles

My A/C stopped working.........took it in to the dealer and they say damaged condenser.
Non warranty, normal wear and tear.

I am by no means a novice with autos, I have 3 Vintage Cars that I maintain.

So,

Is this a a reality with the Santa Fe, lightly driven in the city, less then the national average in regards to miles driven.

Doesn't the car have a belly pan, wouldn't stones be thrown in the wheel house, not towards the front of the engine? Even so, enough stones thrown in 20K of light driving to make it inbetween the belly fan and cooling ducts to damage a condenser to point of not working?

Seems very suspect to me.

If that car can not handle 20k in 2.5 years of light driving, then maybe they need to rethink the design of the a/c condenser.

Should this be a dealer repair under the warranty? Hyundai is claiming no, so says the dealer..........this is the 3rd Hyundai I have owned in 6 years and 4th new car purchased from this dealer in 6 years, I feel as though I am getting the shaft.

Please share your comments.

Thanks.
Shawn

Old 05-21-2009, 06:49 AM
Super Moderator

No, it doesn't have a belly pan but what makes you think the condenser was damaged by a stone thrown by your tires? How do you know it wasn't damaged by a stone kicked up by a car in front of you?

No, that's not a common problem with Santa Fes but it can happen to any car. Sorry for the bad luck but that's all it is, bad luck.

Old 05-21-2009, 08:27 AM
Banned