Hyundai Sonata The Sonata has grown to be the premier mid-sized sedan of the Hyundai name with the many interior options and the powerful V6 engine.

2000 Sonata performance problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2011, 07:19 PM
Default 2000 Sonata performance problem

First, let me say that I am new to this forum and also I am new to working on Hyundai’s my 30+ experience is on air-cooled VW's so I am working my way to modern day cars.
My problem is that for some time I had a missing problem (like a dirty injector) or a plug starting to go bad. I would idle rough at stops but had plenty of power after the hesitation and sometimes a "pop" or small backfire them "ZOOM" off to the races. Then some 3 months ago I went from 4500 elevation in Nevada down to sea level in CA and it ran really poorly for a brief time. An engine light briefly came on but when I shut the engine off and jiggled some s wire and things ran fine the rest of the trip. And the light never came back on. Just the same stuff kept occurring rough idle at stops, a cough and then zoom!