Hyundai Santa Fe This compact sport utility vehicle offers the buyer the safety of an SUV without the hefty price tag or fuel bill.

Engine Work - Serpentine / Timing

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 03:04 PM
Default Engine Work - Serpentine / Timing

Hello everyone, I am attempting to service a 2.7L 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe for a friend.

ISSUE:
Serpentine Belt
- Belt Frayed
- Belt slipped off tensioner nearest A/C Compressor / Upper Motor Mount
- Belt tore into and is stuck inside timing belt cover and possibly a gear or tensioner that lies behind the cover, beneath the upper motor mount.
- Belt stuck behind drive pulley on crankshaft.

Serpentine Belt Tensioner
- Serpentine Tensioner melted nearest A/C Compressor / Upper Motor Mount

Timing Belt
- ??? Initial inspection looks good, but I'm no expert. (Viewed from top with Cam Gear timing belt cover removed.)

Cam Gears
- Alignment between gears okay (Both dots align with both indentation in the valve cover.)
- Cam / Crank alignment (I saw a T mark on the tab overhanging the crank pulley but the crank pulley mark is not aligned perfectly with the T mark. My experience with other engines tells me that a slightly off is okay, and I've done it to Honda motors to tune cam timing, but I would like confirmation for this particular motor.)

UPDATE: (12/05/2009)
Requested Information: RECEIVED (12/05/2009)

Crank Rotation
Received Requested Information, Information is as follows:
Crank Rotation = Clockwise

UPDATE:
Serpentine Belt Removed. Rotated crank counter clockwise to help unwedge belt from drive pulley. Re-Routed belt out crank bolt access hole by front tire to get a pulling angle and removed the portion that was wedged in by the upper motor mount.

Specific Information For:
2005 2.7L V6 Motor
Auto Tensioner needs to be loosened or removed to service serpentine belt
Auto tensioner Receives a 3/8" drive
Auto Tensioner rotates down/clockwise

Last edited by Espera; 12-05-2009 at 11:26 PM.
Old 11-29-2009, 05:15 PM