Hyundai Sonata The Sonata has grown to be the premier mid-sized sedan of the Hyundai name with the many interior options and the powerful V6 engine.

Turbo Engine Care: Do's and Don'ts

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 08:04 AM
Cool Turbo Engine Care: Do's and Don'ts

I have just purchased a 2011 Sonata SE 2.0T Turbo.
I am new to turbo engines and would like information on what to do and what not to do in order to take care of this type of engine.

Any information regarding care of a Turbo engine in general or anything specific for the Sonata Turbo would be greatly appreciated.

Lastly, the car only has 75 miles on it as of today, however the engine and inside the passenger cabin smells "Hot" after driving a few miles back and forth to work at less than 45 mph under very light driving conditions.
Is it normal for this type of engine to smell "Hot" at this stage of ownership?

All informative comments are welcomed and appreciated.

Regards,

TurboMan

Old 01-04-2011, 10:45 AM
Super Moderator

Modern turbos don't really require any unusual special treatment. My only suggestions are to allow the engine to idle a minute or two before turning it off to allow the turbo to cool down and to be sure to change the oil regularly.

The "hot" smell you are getting probably just the engine and parts breaking in. I know my Tiburon stunk for a few days when I first bought it as the coatings on the exhaust that protect it from rust during shipping burnt off.

Old 01-04-2011, 01:54 PM

I agree with the above information, but would only add that you should not hammer on any cold engine, especially a turbo one. Letting the oil get up to operating temperature (which takes a lot longer than the coolant) is a good idea.
In town, under a light load, you probably don't have to worry about letting the turbo cool off before turning off the car. On the highway or right after climbing a grade, that's probably good advice.