Hyundai Tucson The second offering in the compact SUV market from Hyundai.

2006 Tucson GL 4-cyl transmission shift prob

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 02:01 PM
Default 2006 Tucson GL 4-cyl transmission shift prob

My girlfriends Tucson recently started having some funny shift issues. It's kinda like a slipping tranny or at times it has problems upshifting at it's normal intervals.

I am a mechanic. I'm not a Hyundai certified tech, but I know cars and this isn't right. It's not terrible, but the car only has 1500 miles left on the warranty, so I thought it would be a good idea to get the complaint on record in case the dealer blew it off and the trans went belly up after the warranty expired.

As I predicted, the dealer has made an excuse that there's a problem with the IAT sensor and because of that, he cannot proceed to troubleshoot the transmission until that is repaired. Naturally, this sensor is not covered under warranty and he wants us to shell out ~$500 to replace the sensor before he will inspect any further. There is also a bad brake sensor (not sure what it's called as I didn't speak with the dealer) that's causing the ESC light to come on periodically. This sensor is covered under warranty so I told her to go ahead and have them replace the warranted part and we'd take the car to another dealer to get the trans looked at.

Does this sound fishy or is there really some legit explanation for how the IAT sensor can contribute to transmission problems? At this point, I'm at least glad that we have the malfunction on record with Hyundai. In case this does not get resolved before the warranty runs out, I want to make sure that someone had been made aware of it in time to have done something about it while the warranty was still in effect.