General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Rear drum brakes

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2019, 06:00 PM
Default Rear drum brakes

I have a question .. I work as a fleet mechanic for a car lot ..big corporation .. anyways my job is to certify rentals, recondition them so that they can be put out for sale .. we get a few hyundais in .. my problem is the rear drum brakes .... (a little background of my situation.. I have always had a problem with doing drum breaks .. I always had a hard time .. so for the last few years I have taken pictures and examined every make and model of vehicle that has come to me for inspection. Since my job is repetitive. . I made a study of the drum brakes , tools to make the job easier and technique's that would aid my to get them done accurately in a decent time ..I'm still about 30 mins a side -_-).. upon my inspection of the hyundai drum brakes , I actually pulled up on all data a tsb for the inspection for leaks in the rear wheel cylinders.. now every hyundai I touch ..as I do a rear clean and adjust on all vehicles with drums.. I always check to make sure the wheel cylinders are dry .. free from brake fluid .. I push on the boot's with my finger and I tell you what every hyundai I touch .. Brake fluid pours out .. every single one .. but then after thinking about this again this last week .. none of the other guys in the shop seem to be concerned. . I also notice especially on the accents .. that there is always heat damage , so much as to discolor the wheel cylinder's to look burnt , glazed shoes , and even hot enough that the black paint on the drums has appeared to burn off leaving the drums rusty .. I just need to know .. am I trippen? Does anyone else know anything of this? My thought is that if there is break fluid leaking out from the boots of the wheel cylinder when I push on it , that it needs to be replaced ! But every single vehicle I touch ??? And I'm the only